Winning The Future: Quick Recap Of Recent Work

Well falling behind on blog updates was certainly not in the plan, but that’s what happens when you never seem to have enough time to do everything. So I am going to knock out several things at this moment and give everyone a brief rundown of recent events.

First, the Fort Greene Festival did another party in a series that will be counting down towards the main day on June 25, with the one and only Mos Def headlining. I took photographs at the party, which Mos showed up to, and legendary Hip-Hop emcees/producers Pete Rock and Q-Tip were the main DJs for the event. You can check out some of the pictures from the evening over at The Local blog below:

Fort Greene Festival Party Kicks Off The Summer Fun

The next thing is that earlier in May the results came back from the Society Of Professional Journalists national competition, and Brooklyn College ranked as finalists! We tied for second place in the Best All-Around Television Newscast category. This is kind of like a Cinderella story for our college. I am glad to have been part of the team that worked on the broadcast and the story that won in our region, and I accept this as a sign of what will hopefully be a long career in the field. The official results are at the site below:

Society Of Professional Journalists 2010 Mark of Excellence National Winners and Finalists

Finally, between all of the recent work (Brooklyn College’s NABJ chapter has been receiving a warm welcome from the other chapters and members), awards (didn’t even get to blog about the Dale Carnegie certificate I got as well as one from Councilman Mathieu Eugene) and social media activity (got a thousand followers on twitter now and a professional Linkedin account!), I haven’t been able to take time out to address everyone in the first half of this year. To my family, longtime friends, mentors, colleagues, classmates and people who have supported and watched my growth in this short time, thank you. It really does feel like I have entered a new stage in my life, and it is just incredible to reflect on where I was at this time last year and how much has changed since. Your encouragement means so much to me. I can only go forward from here, and I look forward to seeing all of you join me on this journey.

Next up, thoughts on Ghana!

Leave a Reply

