Seminar In Ghana: My Study Abroad Trip

 

White House (Pete Souza)

It has been a long time goal of mine to get out of the country and to see the world that we live in. In this age of globalization where technology and other forces bring many nations across the globe closer together, it is impossible to ignore the changes that are going on at the moment and how it affects our country. The key to understanding where everything is headed is to become a global citizen, and to see firsthand what this new era is bringing forth. In other words, to get your passport ready and travel as much as you can while you have a chance to.

That said, I am very ecstatic about being accepted into Brooklyn College’s International Studies program to travel to Ghana for a month. Ghana has always been a interesting country to me, and one that has been always well spoken of by people I know who have traveled there. It has a rich culture and history that is well worth exploring, and has a reputation for its hospitality. Lets not forget that this is the same nation that President Barack Obama chose to visit during his first tour of Africa, and while there delivered his speech on the hopes of seeing the continent grow in the 21st century. President Obama said that he felt that his brief trip there was significant to him personally, and I hope that it may mean something similar to me too.

I also hope that as a journalist I will have the opportunity to report on some of the things unfolding in Ghana. The government there has been cited as a model for other countries on the continent who have struggled to find a fair and long lasting model that could bring stability to nations torn apart by civil war. Ghana has also transformed quite a bit socially since it gained its independence over 50 years ago. It is also a powerhouse in several industries, especially in the Cocoa trade where most of the Western African region supplies the majority of the world’s supply. There is so much going on there currently, and it is my desire to explore this during my stay.

The funny thing is that originally I was supposed to have gone to South Africa during the winter, but that trip unfortunately did not happen. As they say things happen for a reason, and now I can appreciate this opportunity and hopefully take advantage of this trip to it’s full extent. I hope to add more information about the trip on here as the departure date draws closer, and to blog while I am there.

One thought on “Seminar In Ghana: My Study Abroad Trip

  1. Seve – so glad you got to Ghana which holds a special place it my heart after visiting there back in ”72. Of course, there’s also the historical connection to Ghana for Africans in the diaspora. One event that stands out in my memory of my trip was a funeral I attended while there -by the way, I had never met the deceased. It was more a celebration of the life of the person than mourning him- with lots of music and dancing. I am sure a lot has changed since ’72 and that you will be able to capture that with your excellent journalistic eye and pen.

Leave a Reply

