Mark Of Excellence: The Award Nominated Story I Worked On

Well, I certainly did not see this coming. Last summer when I was producing content for Brooklyn Cable News, my colleague Matthew Vann and I did a story together on the recession and how it was disproportionately affecting black men. It was a difficult story to do because there was a lot to be said about the subject, and it is one that I can relate to having seen this firsthand living in a predominantly black neighborhood. At the time it came out, it was very well received and many people told us it was an enlightening report at that. Little did I know that our boss encouraged my colleague to submit it to the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ), probably the longest standing journalism organization, in January for an award review.

Fast forward to Thursday when I’m in the middle of a Brooklyn College Association of Black Journalists meeting, and a email comes from another person we worked with saying congrats on your award. At first I was excited, but then I was like ‘what the heck did I win?’ Later on in the evening my colleague forwards me the official email and I see that we were one of the finalists selected for the Mark Of Excellence award for Television General News Reporting. Now we have the chance to travel up to the ceremony in April in Rhode Island, and if we win we will be selected to compete in the national contest. To just be acknowledged by the prestigious organization with the nomination is amazing to me, and I look forward to doing more reporting that can tell important stories and make a difference in people’s lives.

You can see the press release from our TV&R department here:

Brooklyn College’s Department of Television and Radio: Journalists Get Recognition

If you wish to watch the segment we did, I posted it on youtube and you can view it below (I was the cameraman and co-editor by the way):

Leave a Reply

